top of page

Swarming on Stage

Hillside’s drama department conducted a play last weekend in the school theatre called, “Hallelujah Swing School.” The play was directed and produced by Hillside High theater director Wendell Tabb.

Junior Kamryn Sneed was in the play. She said the production “was about remembering where we came from, and honoring those who went down the same road that we are going down. We honored those who had an impact in North Carolina and celebrities that came out of Hillside.”

Students enjoy learning and working in Hillside’s drama department. “Working with Mr.Tabb is great.You get to work with a father figure who looks out for you and makes sure your taken care of,” Sneed said.

Sneed also joined theatre for personal reasons. “I joined theatre to express my emotions. I have always wanted to be an actress, but since it is perceived as a reaching dream I never thought I would be where I am today,” she expressed.

Valencia Lipscomb, Hillside’s dance teacher, provided choreography for the play. Lipscomb has the responsibility of coming up with dances that work for all the performers. If a dancer has trouble grasping the moves, how does Ms. Lipscomb deal with that? She asserted, “I used to overthink, because I didn’t want it to be too hard. I made sure I pushed them and challenged them. If needed I switch it up when they can’t get it and give them a different piece.”

“I make things up off the top of my head. I’m just a creative person. I just need to get the scene and get back ground and I go from there. Just being up on my history and genre of dance enables me to be diverse.”

Look forward to more amazing performances from the students of Mr. Tabb and Ms. Lipscomb.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading

Hillside's website (put link here)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "TheSting16"
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page