top of page

SWARMing to Pronouns


As human beings we all want to feel and be respected without having to demand it. To respect someone you exhibit care, concern, or consideration of their feelings. In schools students should feel respected and comfortable. A part of doing so we could start by simply addressing people as they wish to be addressed.

In schools we address people as we see them or based on their looks. However, we must take into consideration that assuming someone's gender based off how they appear can be hurtful and inconsiderate. Teachers meeting their students for the first time or even encountering students outside their classroom should first become aware of the pronouns they identify as.

Holly Jordan, teacher and leader of the Gender Sexuality Alliance at Hillside, is trying to bring awareness to the idea of becoming familiar with a students pronouns. She has also created a way to do it without having to ask face to face or bring unwanted attention to the student.

“I don’t ask to their face, I hand out an info sheet.” Jordan said.“It allows not drawing awkward attention, while still allowing me to know.”

GSA allows an extra home or safe place for kids to be who themselves with no judgement. Within the club she allows people to express their pronouns and as whole they respect everyone and take in to consideration how they wish to be addressed.

Jordan is aware that many people are still trying to become familiar with the use of pronouns. Jordan understands that people will assume, but it's always okay to ask. “I’m not going to be mad if someone assumes, but I am going to ask.”

Jessica Austin, Assistant Principal at Hillside, notes that students share the information with her unknowingly when speaking with her. She doesn’t usually directly ask the student their pronoun preference. “Students share that information with me through our conversations. I try to be cognizant of how they want to be addressed, because I want students to be comfortable.”

Austin Hogan, school coordinator, prefers to only address people by name. “I don’t use pronouns I use the their names and then I may ask afterwards.”

Crystal Greenwood, CTE teacher, says she doesn’t ask students directly but that she allows them to tell her through their information sheet. “I don’t ask them in that term but I do give out a info sheet and they have the opportunity to tell me.”

Cherelle Lee, student counselor, says she looks at the students name and that when speaking with them they’ll usually tell her. “I look at their name and when I talk with them 101 I can usually figure it out and some students may even tell me their pronouns.”

We hope that teachers and their peers will all soon come together and further respect someone's wishes on how they prefer to be addressed. “We don’t always have to be perfect. We just have to try,”says Ms. Jordan.

Pictured: Junior Madison Barriere (left) and Senior Erin Batten-Hicks (Right)

Photo Credit: Morgan Harris

 


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading

Hillside's website (put link here)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "TheSting16"
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page