top of page

We SWARM: Focus on Hornets from Honduras


Immigrant students at Hillside: Focus on Honduras

The Central American population in our country has grown up to around 3.3 million people in the US. The main Central American countries these immigrants are from are El Salvador, Honduras, and Guatemala.

31.1 percent of students enrolled in Durham Public Schools are of Hispanic or Latino descent; many of which are immigrants from Latin American countries. Many of them face struggles that are not talked about.

“I came here for a better future and change my way of life and not be on the streets because in Honduras there’s a lot of violence,” said Juan Bustillo 16, a Hillside High School student that immigrated from Honduras when he was only 10.

Honduras is one of the top most dangerous countries in the world; with over 66 percent of the population living in poverty in 2016. “It makes me feel sad when I see tragedies happen in my country because there’s no way to help,” Bustillo said.

Most of these immigrants come to the US not knowing a word of English. “A problem I faced was bullying because people made fun of the fact I didn’t speak English, it was hard learning English because I had only ever spoken Spanish.” Bustillo explained.


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading

Hillside's website (put link here)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "TheSting16"
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page