top of page

Adding Up Scholarships


The 2018 Scholarship Fair

The students of class 2019 went to the Scholarship Fair. The Scholarship fair took place in Emily K Center Friday Oct 5,2018.The students of Hillside High School went to Emily K Center to meet up with different universities. Emily K center develops education and impact of community-based organization. Students of Hillside High School talk to people and present themselves to the different people so they could try to get an acceptance letter for a college or a scholarship from a college. These students from Hillside High school want to go to college. The students had to dress up professionally when they meet the people that represent the university. The seniors from Hillside last year raised 1 million dollars from scholarships. This year the students raised 6.8 million dollars in scholarships. Karen Romero and Leslie Pozo Martinez were students that attended the Scholarship fair field trip.

Questions I asked Karen

-How did you feel about the scholarship fair?

” I felt so emotional,happy,proud.”

-Did you get accepted to any colleges?

”Yes, I got accepted to five more colleges and I was happy because I have a possibility to go to college and be successful.”

-What did you do to get ready for the scholarship fair?

“I wrote down a couple of questions to ask each college I also had my packets ready with my transcript and tests scores and teachers recommendations week before. So I wouldn’t have to rushing and start worrying if I have something missing.”

Questions I asked Leslie-

-How did you feel about the scholarship fair?

“ I felt like it was a good opportunity and for students to get accepted to colleges and receive scholarships and it gives you a good experience when when you do interview in college.”

-Did you get accepted to any colleges?

“Yes, I got accepted to Shaw University,Benniet University offering me a $15,000 scholarship,Hampton University.”

-What did you do to get ready for the Scholarship fair?

“We set up are packet with all the supplies needed and then we wrote questions that we were going to ask.”


Who's Behind The Blog
Recommanded Reading

Hillside's website (put link here)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow "TheSting16"
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
bottom of page